A house is a home when it shelters the body and comforts the soul.

Standard

A few weeks ago I moved into my fourth, and let’s hope, last apartment in Uganda.  I am living with IJM Uganda’s new communication fellow, Cheryl.  I am grateful to spend a restful Saturday doing laundry and enjoying my new home.

Have I told you how much I love the fruits and vegetables here?  I made a simple summery salad for lunch which I am eating now.

Image
I am also enjoying a day of laundry catch-up.  Our new place very extravagantly came with a washing machine!!!!!  Unfortunately water pressure is so low that it takes an hour+ to fill, it sometimes errors out mid-cycle and during the spin cycle water leaks all over the kitchen.  Today I nursed the machine through one load and then did two loads by hand.  Be impressed.

Image

If you are wanting a peek at my face, here I am in my new room about to leave for church last Sunday.  Please note lovely original piece of artwork from Lindsay and “Someone in Missouri Loves You” picture frame from my family.  They will be hung as soon as I find a hammer and nails.

Finally, I met a friend one morning enjoying breakfast as I walked out the door to work.Image

Hope you all are as content as this guy!

About nataliemma

This blog [infrequently] documented my work as a structural transformation design fellow with International Justice Mission's Uganda field office. I spent two months researching in Washington DC before deploying to Uganda to design structural recommendations in line with IJM's mission of providing improved access to and distribution of justice to the world's global poor through local public justice systems. I'm a Mizzou grad, St. Louis native, and MBA with five years of operations experience in finance.

One response »

Leave a Reply

