My first haircut and illness

Standard

Thursday after work I ventured to my first haircut in Uganda!  The nice Indian man did an excellent job. It wasn’t what I was picturing but he knew what he was doing and I am quite pleased!

Casually photographing Mary and our hairdresser

When Mary and I were paying for our dinner an hour later the waitress handed me a slip of paper.  It was from someone named Eric with his phone number and email address asking if we could please be friends.  I guess I was not the only one pleased with my new look.  (I have not contacted him).

In a condition similar to Samson’s, I must have lost my strength with my hair.  I have been out of commission since Friday night due to a nasty fever/flu bug that has been going around (details withdrawn.  Welcome to Africa.)  Unfortunately my illness caused our group to cancel the “Lethal Luau” murder mystery on Friday night and I had to miss celebrating with our beautiful attorney, Geri, who got married yesterday.  What a bummer weekend to be sick.

I am feeling better after a day and a half of continuous rest and Modern Family episodes.  Today I even showered and washed some laundry (by hand–yep, that’s how we roll).    And I may even venture out of the house…!

Happy advent to you all.

Last Sunday I heard the most amazing boys choir for a night of Lessons & Carols at this stunning old Anglican church in Kampala. Wonderful.

About nataliemma

This blog [infrequently] documented my work as a structural transformation design fellow with International Justice Mission's Uganda field office. I spent two months researching in Washington DC before deploying to Uganda to design structural recommendations in line with IJM's mission of providing improved access to and distribution of justice to the world's global poor through local public justice systems. I'm a Mizzou grad, St. Louis native, and MBA with five years of operations experience in finance.

3 responses »

  1. Your new look is Great!!!! Sorry to hear you aren’t feeling well. Hope you are up to par soon I want to hear about the Murder dinner night!!!! I want to send you something for xmas but of course it will be late. If there is something you are missing or want let me know. love and miss you this holiday season we will NOT play whose line is it anyway with out you!!! Have a great week,

Leave a Reply

