Unsubscribe

Standard

I just spent some of my precious internet time unsubscribing from “rubbish”, as my English roommate, Ruth, would say.

After just a few days out of internet world (on retreat–I will usually be in better communication–promise!!!) I had to wade through a ridiculous amount of junk mail just to get to the real stuff from my loved ones.

So, goodbye Old Navy, Regal Theaters, Gap, Walgreens, Wherenberg Theaters, Southwest, American Airlines, Cheapflights, D’s Yoga Home (can’t believe I wasted those Groupons!!!!), St. Louis Arts Alliance, Professionals in DC, Macaroni Grill, Express…

It never seemed like that much when I was checking email dozens of times a day. But it is. Goodbye clutter! Hello, Simplicity!

(Also, hello tiny basic cell phone.  I like you.)

I may take the plunge and archive all 4500 emails in my inbox, as Margaret and Warren encouraged me to do. Then commit to be better about labeling and archiving as I take care of emails and reply.

Sorry, not the post you wanted, I’m sure. I just wanted to share my cleansing of the inbox with you all.

How do you manage your inbox?

More to come–I will write offline to save my internet balance.  The adventure is wonderful so far.

xoxo from Uganda,
Natalie

About nataliemma

This blog [infrequently] documented my work as a structural transformation design fellow with International Justice Mission's Uganda field office. I spent two months researching in Washington DC before deploying to Uganda to design structural recommendations in line with IJM's mission of providing improved access to and distribution of justice to the world's global poor through local public justice systems. I'm a Mizzou grad, St. Louis native, and MBA with five years of operations experience in finance.

3 responses »

  1. Missing you and happy we can learn more about you. Will you be posting daily? send a message to your facebook that is how I found your blog. Your mom and dad are here and we are playing cards and marble game!! Do you have yours? Have you taken any pictures yet? looking forward to seeing them.

  2. It can be hard to let go of all those potential deals. I totally get it. I actually have a whole separate email account I give out to Gap, etc., so when I am in a shopping mood, I can go to that email account and scan my emails for any deals I might want to take advantage of that day. No matter how you handle your inbox, congrats on working on decluttering it!

Leave a Reply

